WASZP Class Sweeps – 7th Foiling Awards – The winners

by We Are Foiling 21 Apr 04:10 AEST

 WASZP Class wins Forlanini Award – (L to R) Alessandra Bianchi, Oleksandr Muratov (Proteus 360), Bacci Del Buono, Martin Evans (WASZP Class Manager), Luca Rizzotti, Francesca Frazza, Doug Schickler (ST Yachts), Roberto Lacorte (Flying Nikka) © Martina Orsini / WeAreFoiling Media

The seventh edition of the Foiling Awards has its winners. The prizes for the best foiling athletes, projects and products of the last 12 months were awarded overnight in Genoa based on votes cast online by the global foiling Community.

During a dinner with 250 guests, journalist and We Are Foiling Social Media Manager Francesca Frazza, together with one of the Italian TV sailing “faces” Bacci Del Buono, led the evening on stage at the Magazzini del Cotone in Genoa’s Porto Antico.

Confirming the appreciation and public recognition for the initiative, the Genoa City Council granted its High Patronage to the event and the Department of Facilities, Sports Activities and Tourism officially included the Foiling Awards in the “Genova Capitale dello Sport 2024” program. The event also enjoys the Patronage of Confindustria Nautica and the cooperation of New Zealand Trade & Enterprise – Te Taurapa Tuhono.

During his welcome, We Are Foiling Founder Luca Rizzotti highlighted the success of some of the athletes and projects awarded during the previous six editions to underline how the Awards now represent an ambitious springboard for the Foiling Community and its worldwide industry.

Before leaving the stage, Rizzotti reminded everyone of the 11th Foiling Week, the original core of the We Are Foiling ecosystem of events and initiatives, which will take place in Malcesine, on Lake Garda, from 24 to 30 June.

Martin Evans receiving the Forlanini Award with Female Foiling Sailor of the year Hattie Rogers (WASZP)

The ‘Forlanini’, the overall award to the ‘winner among winners’ dedicated to the renowned Italian foiling pioneer, was awarded to the WASZP Class (Foiling Pathway Award 2024). It was a unanimous decision based mainly on the price, which was more convenient than similar boats, making it possible for a wider segment of the female and male public to buy it, and the fact that it currently represents an excellent waypoint to more demanding boats.

The jury, made up of Award winners of previous editions, consisted this year of: Glenn Ashby – Emirates Team New Zealand, Roberto Lacorte – Flying Nikka, Doug Schickler – ST Yachts, Ferdinand Van West – NYYC American Magic Team and Oleksandr Muratov – Proteus 360.

After being officially returned by last year’s winners, the SailGP event organizers who had won it at its first edition, the trophy was conferred to WASZP Class President Martin Evans, by Alessandra Bianchi, Councillor for Facilities, Sports Activities and Tourism of the Municipality of Genoa.

Hattie Rogers and Sam Street claim Female and Male Foiling Sailors of the Year

This seventh edition took place within the framework of the first World Foiling Congress, promoted and organized by The Foiling Organization (also part of the We Are Foiling galaxy), which gathered the players of the international industry in Genoa from the 17th up today.

The Foiling Awards owe their realization to the support of some far-sighted companies such as: Cariboni, GAC Pondar, Garmin, Gottifredi Maffioli, Hinelson, METSTRADE, NL Comp, Persico Marine, Recarbon, SLAM, Vakaros.


The winners of the seventh edition

Forlanini Overall Award – WASZP Class
Overall Award dedicated to the Italian foiling pioneer Enrico Forlanini, to be assigned among the winners of the current edition by a jury composed by previous editions winners.
Nominees: Hattie Rogers, Sam Street, 11th Hour Racing Team, AC40 Flight Control System, Crazy Lobster, Ferrari 100ft Ocean Foiler, SailGP Saint Tropez, Futur-E Foiling, Artemis EF-20H Patrol, Baltic Raven 111, Switch, Hydroflyer.

Female Sailor – Hattie Rogers
For the best female foiling sailor of the last 12 months.
Presenting Partner: GARMIN – Andrea D’Amato, EMEA Business Development Manager Marine
Nominees: Lisa Schweigert, Lauriane Nolot, Shahar Tibi, Nia Suardiaz, Catalina Turienzo.

Male Sailor – Sam Street
For the best male foiling sailor of the last 12 months.
Presenting Partner: GARMIN – Andrea D’Amato, EMEA Business Development Manager Marine
Nominees: Charles Caudrelier, Francesco Cappuzzo, Maximilian Maeder, Luuc Van Oopzeland, Enzo Balanger.